| AdminHistory | The General Committee set up an Executive Committee in 1919 made up of representatives from local organisations with Sub-Committees to explore a War Memorial for the borough after the First World War. In 1920 it was recommended to the Libraries Committee that a War Memorial should take form of: - a Roll of Honour on vellum to record names of those who gave their lives in service to their country, to be available on public view in the library; - a stained glass window at the head of the staircase leading to the library's' Reference Department and Lecture Hall; - a bronze tablet stating the particulars of the Memorial.
A Bethnal Green War Memorial Fund was set up and subscribed to by residents of Bethnal Green. Funds were to be handed to the Public Libraries Committee for providing the Memorial.
The Roll of Honour recorded entries up to c.1922 and was enclosed in an oak and glass cabinet. The Memorial Window was unveiled by Reverend George Elwes Allen Whitworth, Mayor of Bethnal Green. It was dedicated by Right Reverend Arthur Foley Winnington-Ingram, Bishop of London on 17 March 1923. Additional entries were added on a separate card index. |